WCC to host online prayer service for World Food Day

News

The World Council of Churches (WCC) is inviting all people of good will to attend an online prayer service on 16 October, World Food Day

Print article

The World Council of Churches (WCC) is inviting all people of good will to attend an online prayer service on 16 October, World Food Day at 4.30 pm (CET).

The day is part of the Churches’ Week of Action on Food, being observed this year from 11-17 October, as hunger is a stark reality for 26.4 per cent of the world’s population. The theme for World Food Day is ‘Grow, Nourish, Sustain Together’.

The service will feature welcome greetings by Prof. Dr Isabel Apawo Phiri, WCC deputy general secretary. Reflections will be offered by Sofía Monsalve Suárez, secretary-general of FIAN International. The service will also include voices from WCC member churches across the world.

The Christian Conference of Asia, and Pacific Conference of Churches are also hosting online prayer services the same day, using the liturgy provided by the WCC. The service in the Pacific will be held at 10 am Suva, Fiji time (9 am Sydney, 11 am Auckland). In Asia, the service will be held at 11 am Bangkok time (9.30 am New Delhi, 12 noon Beijing).

The Rev’d Prof. Dr Ioan Sauca, WCC interim general secretary, will share a recorded message to the fellowship.

This week Sauca welcomed and celebrated the award of the 2020 Nobel Peace Prize to the UN World Food Programme, which works in some of the remotest and most vulnerable regions of the world in a time when hunger is growing at an alarming rate.

Live stream will be available at: www.oikoumene.org/live.

Download the prayer material

First published on the World Council of Churches website on 9 October 2020.

More News stories

Loading next article